The Dirt Nitro Challenge News

Video: Dirt Nitro Challenge Truck Main

Under the E-Hood: Ty Tessmann

Ty Tessmann, 23 – Canada

Chassis: XRAY XB8E’16
ESC: Team Orion Vortex R8.1 Pro
Batteries: Team Orion Carbon Pro
Tyres: Pro-Line
Radio & Servos: : Airtronics M12 provided by, MKS servos
Body & Wing: Stock body, Pro-Line Trifecta Lite wing
Event: 2017 Dirt Nitro Challenge, USA

more »

Under the Hood: Spencer Rivkin

Spencer Rivkin, – USA

Chassis: Team Associated RC8T3
Engine: Maxima Mx B2
Fuel: MX Fuel
Tyres: JConcepts 
Radio & Servos: : Airtronics M12, Reedy RT2207A servos
Body & Wing: JConcepts Striker body & stock wing
Weight: 3393g (without fuel)
Event: 2017 Dirt Nitro Challenge, USA


more »

Under the E-Hood: David Ronnefalk

David Ronnefalk – Sweden

Chassis: HB Racing E817
ESC: Team Orion Vortex R8 ProX
Batteries: Team Orion Carbon Pro
Tyres: JConcepts
Radio & Servos: AMain Hobbies Sanwa M12 Highest DT1100
Body & Wing: JConcepts “Silencer” body painted by BM Design | Kyosho TKI4 wing
Event: 2017 Dirt Nitro Challenge, USA


more »

Video: Maifield wins E-Buggy DNC Final

Ryan Maifield takes home Nitro Challenge truck title

At times billed as the ‘appetiser’ to Sunday’s ‘main course’ buggy main, the 45 minute truck was full of action, starting out a fresh face leading the challengers, with Ryan Lutz having TQ’d, Lutz would lead Tessmann and Maifield early on before Lutz had a bit of a shocker lap dropping from leading down to 4th, this promoted Tessmann, Maifield and Bornhorst who would fight with Ryan for some time.

Early casualities included Boots only managing one lap, Tanner Denny, and almost Ronnefalk who bizarrely had twine/rope from a bale of hay tangle his truggy on the start, causing him to drop last.

Outfront, the leading 4 drivers had seperated from the rest of the field somewhat, until it looked like victory would be decided between Tessmann and Maifield – both in sublime form with their new chassis’ proving that at the absolute sharp end, driver matters…

Unfortunately we were robbed of an epic showdown as whilst leading, Ty Tessmann’s XRAY truck all of a sudden veered sharply off the straight as if glitching on a runaway, a marshall quickly got the car stopped and after a quick see-over in the pits from Gord, the culprit a loose receiver pack plug, engineered for the specific purpose of staying put but sadly working it’s way off. The demise of Tessmann gave huge breathing room to Ryan Maifield who would go on to control the large gap out front and cruise home with a win. Tessmann would impressively recover to 7th after his issues.

At this point the podium places were up for grabs and Joe Bornhorst racing with Ryan Lutz for 2nd, until Lutz broke the front end of his Tekno car, the track biting hard it would seem, it would also hit Reno Savoya, running 5th behind Cav and Tebo as a steering servo broke with 9mins to go. For the latter half of the race Cav and Tebo were the pair to watch as they raced together like old seasoned friends, World Champions and eager kids, a joy to watch. Nonetheless a deserving winner in Ryan Maifield who opened up his ‘Mugen era’ with win number 1.

Under the Hood: Adam Drake

Adam Drake (USA), 36

Chassis: Mugen Seiki MBX7R
Engine: O.S. B2102
Tyres: Pro-Line
Fuel: Flashpoint 30%
Radio & Servos: Hitec Lynx 4S, Hitec 9380, 9370
Event: 2017 Dirt Nitro Challenge, USA


more »

DNC Saturday Photos

More photos here

 2015 Dirt Nitro Challenge

Videos | Photos | History | Results | Live Timing

2015 Nitro Buggy Champion: Ryan Maifield
2015 Nitro Truck Champion:
David Ronnefalk