The Dirt Nitro Challenge News

The Dirt Nitro Challenge Returns!

Oh those Arizona sunsets… how we long for you.

Once more the season cycle gets underway with our first flyaway race, the annual Dirt Nitro Challenge (or DNC) held at the Fear Farm RC Raceway in Phoenix, Arizona USA. NeoBuggy will be present at the event with live coverage and reports from Thursday directly with 1/8 Truck qualifying.

Here’s a little reminder of what’s to come later this week, tune in to Neo to see how all the winter silly season swaps pan out with the likes of Ty Tessmann entering his first ‘big race’ under the XRAY banner, Ryan Maifield now in post TLR-Exile with Mugen Seiki, World Champion David Ronnefalk and defending Champion Ryan Cavalieri both now wheeling JConcepts rubber and the return of Robert Batlle to the DNC after missing the event for many years. It’s gonna be good!

Re-Watch last year’s Final

18th annual Dirt Nitro Challenge

See: The Dirt

The 18th The Dirt Nitro Challenge will be held from the 22nd to 26th of February at the Fear Farm R/C Raceway in Phoenix, Arizona. Joey Christensen and The Dirt crew will work their magic to create yet another set signature DNC tracks (1/10 track, 1/8 track, and 1/5 track). “Don’t miss out the largest gas off-road race in the World” and send in those entries while there is still time!

DNC Flyer here

2017 The Dirt Nitro Challenge dates, venue, early entry discount

2017 dirt nitro challenge

See: The Dirt Racing

The Dirt Crew are happy to announce that the 18th annual, 2017 The Dirt Nitro Challenge will once again be held at the famous Fear Farm facility in Phoenix AZ! The dates are set at February 22nd-26th 2017. The new entry and class limit proved to be a success last year with the race selling out and allowing the event to run smoothly with a scheduled race itinerary and 10 pm finish time! The 2017 DNC will continue to implement the same format as last year to insure a successful, scheduled event! The 2017 DNC planning is well under way and we are excited about bringing you the biggest gas off-road race on the planet!!! For more information visit or email

Continue reading here

Colin Herzig doubles up at DNC16


See: Kyosho America

This past weekend, the 2016 Dirt Nitro Challenge was once again held at The Fear Farm in Goodyear, Arizona. Joey & The Dirt track crew did an amazing job on the track build for this years event and it was a big hit with all the drivers. Kenny Brosh & Jimmy Babcock did another great job keeping the race program moving silky smooth all weekend long. With the total 1/8 race entries being limited to 600 this year, the event went off without a hitch and was very well received by all the racers.

Continue reading here

DNC16: Photo highlights


The Dirt Nitro Challenge is in the books but memories remains immortalized in our daily galleries. Here are a couple of our favourites

More photos in DNC Galleries.

ECSA5130-X2 ECSA6818-X2 ECSA6743-X2 ECSA6312-X2 ECSA6270-X2 ECSA4632-X2 ECSA4345-X2 ECSA2966-X2


ECSA6463-X2 ECSA6442-XL ECSA6338-X2 ECSA4091-X3 IMG_4170-X2 ECSA3293-X2 ECSA5113-X2 ECSA5162-X2 ECSA4775-X2 ECSA6231-X2 ECSA5361-X2 ECSA6759-X2

Video: 2016 DNC 1/8 Pro Buggy Final



Ryan Cavalieri wins Dirt Nitro Challenge nail-biter


With few spectators expecting a repeat of last night’s brilliant truck final, they were gladfully rewarded something even more exciting, dramatic and entertaining as Maifield, Tessmann, Cavalieri and Phend went head to head – toe to toe for the 45 minute duration, individual title quests looking unbeatable at points whilst others’ down n’ out only for some sudden turn of events to swing the favours once again.

The main started out with Maifield making a somewhat tentative getaway, perhaps the moisture in the track, or even simply the rough conditions not suiting his car, Tessmann hustling him as well as Phend, Cavalieri staying in contention but not part of the headlines early on.

Continue reading…

Under the Hood: Mike Truhe


Mike Truhe (USA), 32

Chassis: Mugen MBX7R
Engine: O.S. Speed B2101
Fuel: Byron Fuel
Tyres: Pro-Line Blockades
Radio & Servos: Futaba 4PXMKS servos
Body & Wing: Stock body & Pro-Line Lexan wing
Event: 2016 The Dirt Nitro Challenge

IMG_4269 IMG_4289 IMG_4288 IMG_4286 IMG_4284 IMG_4283 IMG_4281 IMG_4280 IMG_4279 IMG_4278 IMG_4275 IMG_4270

 2015 Dirt Nitro Challenge

Videos | Photos | History | Results | Live Timing

2015 Nitro Buggy Champion: Ryan Maifield
2015 Nitro Truck Champion:
David Ronnefalk