Racing News

Reno takes a bite out of the Big Apple

Bez názvu-1

Last weekend hosted the Big Apple Novarossi Nitro Challenge in New York. Among many of the nation’s greats, XRAY’s Reno Savoya traveled to America to partake in the festivities. Despite missing the win in the Nitro Buggy class, the trip was still a success for the Frenchman as he came away the winner of the competitive E-Buggy class ahead of Gunnar Rieck and Anthony Mazzara.

IMG_3383 cars podium (6)

Source: XRAY


Svensson strikes at Swedish Nats


The Swedish Offroad Nationals took place recently in wet weather conditions with some of Sweden’s best in attendance. Christoffer Svensson would capture the win after a long and grueling final followed up by XRAY’s Kennie Ekenstierna and Johan Balsberg. In addition, Hampus Berg went on to win the Swedish Junior title after an exciting junior final!

Source: XRAY

Bayer blasts to German Nats win


This past weekend hosted Round 1 of the German 1/8 Offroad Nationals. The event was held in Landshut, Germany by Club La Speedway. The track was made up of fresh dirt, and with very little water it became an extremely rough racing surface for the competition to tackle. XRAY’s Martin Bayer would take the overall TQ spot after qualifying, but struggled in the semi final. He would start 4th in the final, but fought his way past the Carsten Keller and Team Durango’s Jörn Neumann to take the win!

Source: XRAY

Crompton cruises to victory at NRS

Crompton Win

Round 5 of the NRS was held this past weekend at NNRC in the UK. REDS Racing team driver, David Crompton, piloted his Radiosistemi buggy to the front of the pack to take the overall victory.

Source: REDS

Bloomfield blazes to BRCA Rd.4 win


The 4th round of the BRCA National Championship was held at Coventry, originally scheduled to be the 2nd round but cancelled for weather reasons earlier in the season. NEMO Racing’s Darren Bloomfield put in an astonishing performance, walking away the winner after a hard fought battle throughout the weekend with the likes of Elliott Boots, Neil Cragg, and Lee Martin.

NEMO Racing has recapped the exciting weekend of racing in an in-depth race report, highlighting Darren’s successful weekend from start to finish!

more »

Nugroho tops Malaysian League Rd.4

Jason Nugroho

The Malaysia National League Round 4 was held on August 23-24, 2014 at 3 Stone Park Track, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. There were a total of 74 racers in attendance from Malaysia, Singapore, Australia and Indonesia. The race format was 5 rounds of 10 minute qualifying, with ‘Christmas tree’ finals. The usual suspects were up front at the start of the final, with the exception of XRAY’s Jason Nugroho. Jason was buried in the pack after an early crash dropped him to 10th. Despite his troubles he fought back passing Ben Panic and Daniel Law to take the lead at the 15 minute mark. From there, Nugroho never looked back, taking the win! Daniel Law and Ben Panic would finish out the podium for the day.

Source: XRAY

Kaja is king of the KS Challenge

Kaja Novotny

Team Durango Czech star Kaja Novotny has raced to a solid victory at the fourth round of the KS Challenge in Radotin, Czech Republic. With Kaja already holding the track lap record from a previously hot race performance, it was a new track configuration that was presented to the field of 1/8 E-Buggy drivers. Kaja was able to win all three qualifying rounds to easily take the overall TQ and pole position in the ‘A’ Final. He then flew to an overall win with his DEX408v2!

Source: Team Durango

Bakla powers to P-L Challenge win

Ari Bakla

Round 2 of the Pro-Line Challenge took place in Canberra, Australia this past weekend. The ACT track provided racers with a challenging, yet enjoyable layout with high grip and wide open straightaways. XRAY/FX team driver, Ari Bakla, proved he had the winning package as he tackled the fast track with ease to take the Round 2 win over Ben Sterling and fellow teammate Dragan Bjelic.

more »

Futaba Challenge at Leisure Hours

Futaba Challenge

The 5th annual Futaba Electric Challenge is coming up fast! From September 5-7 Futaba is taking over the Leisure Hours R/C Raceway in Joliet, Illinois and you can get in on the action. Send in one low entry fee to reserve your place to compete on two challenging tracks. Racers and spectators can look forward to three days jam-packed with exciting action—but only if you sign up now!

more »

Offroad: Bloody knuckles or tutus?

WOW Ballet

Were you an avid R/C racer back in the 1980’s? I was too young back then, BUT I have seen the footage, heard the stories, and can only dream of what offroad racing used to be. Looking back, this seems like the glory days of RC – racing on loamy tracks, knobby tires that required no inserts (they didn’t exist back then), and racing lines that changed from lap to lap.

“Somewhere between 1985 and 2014, I feel as though we have lost sight of what offroad really means…”

Today, offroad racing features hours and hours of track prep to ensure a perfectly smooth and sticky track. Something which some might argue defeats the purpose of offroad racing by creating dirt roads smoother than most asphalt parking lots.

Read more…