1/8 Offroad News

PowerStar PC-600, PC-900 & PC-1600 HV servos

See: PowerStar

PowerStar have introduced three new digital servos, the PC-600, the PC-900 HV and the PC-1600 HV. Specially designed to be use with RTR vehicles, these servos feature a plastic case and a digital cordless motor.

More photos here

SWORKz S35-T Speed Rhinocero III body

See: SWORKz 

SWORKz have introduced the new Speed Rhinocero III body for the S35-T/E and Zeus truggies. The detailed body thanks to its shape make the truggies more easy to drive and offers faster lap times. The Speed Rhinocero III body comes with window masks and stickers.

More photos here

T-Work’s rubber fuel cap handle

See: T-Work’s Products

T-Work’s have introduced a rubber fuel cap handle for nitro buggy and nitro truggy. The handle is made from perforated rubber to adjust its length in order to fit it at various shapes of bodies and facilitate refueling. The rubber fuel cap handle comes with the necessary hardware including two golden screws, nut, washer and brace.

World Champ Davide Ongaro #1 at Top 25 Rankings

See: Top 25 RC

The 2018 IFMAR Worlds are over and the #1 ranked driver in the world Davide Ongaro took home the title of world Champion! Congrats to the Ongaro team, they have been dominating all year. Ty Tessmann and Ryan Maifield rounded out the podium. The usual drivers were fast as always, but this years worlds showed some new drivers that are ready to mix it up. Young Americans CJ Jelin and Cole Tallard showed that they are rising stars to watch out for. Also was impressed with the veteran Naoto Matsukura who was fast all week and Bruno Coelho for backing up his European Championship win earlier this year with a great run. It is always interesting to compare the Top 25 Ranking to the worlds finishing order. So here it is:

Continue reading here

REDS Racing dismiss Ryan Maifield

In a move that is widely being lauded by online commentary, respected Italian engine marque REDS announced today they have split from US team driver Ryan Maifield, only days after starting from pole position and finishing 3rd at the IFMAR Worlds in Perth Australia.

“Following the events that occurred during the IFMAR World Championship 2018 in Australia, we wanted to announce that Ryan Maifield has been dismissed from Reds Racing Team for breaching the contract.” – Facebook

The industry respected and decorated Mugen driver choosing to run a brand of crankcase and carb other than from the sponsor he represented since January 2016. for personal competitive reasons. With all drivers pitting under one central large tent, secrets aren’t kept for long, and rumours were rife towards the end of qualifying. Ryan would go on to put in a dominant performance in the semis and would start on pole and lead for the first third of the final before taking the final podium spot.

Despite history repeating itself; Maifield is no stranger to mixing and matching cooling heads with other engines, over the years deja vu with the likes of Orion, Novarossi and GRP back in the day.

A sad end to a partnership that brought both much success.

Davide Ongaro wins 2018 IFMAR Worlds

Links: Saturday Worlds Gallery | Final Results

In a race of his own at times, Davide Ongaro is your 2018 IFMAR World Champion having won in style in Perth, Australia. The young Italian has been leading the pace all year and  takes over the reign from David Ronnefalk who won in Las Vegas two years ago.

See More in our Gallery

A quick recap of the semis saw high profile drivers not make it – Bruno Coelho after he had threatened for the lead, Dakotah Phend and Elliott Boots. Ty Tessmann would win his semi with Davide Ongaro behind, whilst the second semi final would prove faster, Ryan Maifield taking the win ahead of David Ronnefalk, the Arizona native starting on pole. It was a dramatic build up as the weather turned just before the first semi practice would go on track, giving it a good sprinkle of rain, however thankfully the rest of the day was overcast but dry.

The main would start with Maifield leading the pack out, a clean start soon turned into disaster after defending Champion Ronnefalk suffered from slipping clutch bearings, he would come into the pits and lose touch with the leaders.


See More in our Gallery

This began to form the theme of the main as Maifield, Tessmann and Ongaro were the main protagonists. With all drivers having driven through the 30 min semis, it was really only until midway through the final that Davide Ongaro began to stretch his lead having overtaken Ryan Maifield definitively on lap 33 and he never looked back opening the gap outfront in pure dominant fashion.

See More in our Gallery

Maifield’s start from pole would end in 3rd on the podium as the Mugen driver succumbed to a longer pit strategy from Ty Tessmann who took 2nd, David Ronnefalk briefly threatened Maifield in 3rd after driving up from the back of the pack but mistakes late on would drop him into a solid 4th infront of Ryan Cavalieri and Robert Batlle.

See More in our Gallery

A fantastic and dominant victory from Ongaro who originally set the pace in practice, lost his way somewhat in quali before turning on the crescendo. Fully deserved with no driver able to stay in touch with his pure relentless lap speed, his victory marred however by very sad post-win finger-pointing by certain camps… We witnessed a rather public trial in the technical inspection booth post race where cars were subject to incredibly detailed inspections by IFMAR’s officials and the very dedicated tech inspection team. Sometimes one must accept when you’re beaten.

Davide OnGyro Ongaro deservedly joins the World Champion Club!

2018 IFMAR Worlds: Live!

Live Timing | Results

Perth Local time

1/4A – 9:30 AM |  1/4B: 10:15 AM
Semi A – 11:45 AM  |  Semi B – 12:30 PM   |  Last Chance – 2PM
Worlds Final: 14:50

IFMAR Worlds: Lower Finals Live!

Live Timing | Results