1/8 E-Buggy News

MIP Bypass1 1/8 Team Associated & TLR pistons

See: MIP

Following the release of the Bypass1 pistons for Mugen, MIP have a announced that they are now available for Team Associated and TLR 1/8 rides. The MIP Bypass1 pistons are fully customizable and allow you to truly control your cars rebound speed and performance. The Bypass1 pistons are also Dyno-Tuned to ensure they match the compression characteristics of the stock pistons! Featuring MIP Color Coded Valves, the Bypass1 pistons combined together with these valves allow you to control and maximize your cars performance based on which valves you use. Thicker valves generate a slower rebound and thinner valves get you quicker rebounds.

Watch the video

Bregante & Biurrum crowned South American Champions


The South American Championships were held in Calama, Chile. In the Nitro Buggy class it was Nicolas Bregante (XRAY) who took the win and the title, the third in the class after those of 2016 in Medellin, Colombia and 2017 in Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Bolivia. Henrique Winik and Emilio Jurado rounded out the top 3. N.Bregante also brought home the win and the title in the E-buggy class from Bryan Bohrt Lara in second and Nicolas Demicheri in third. XRAY driver Javier Biurrum grabbed the win and took the title in Truggy in front of Christian Leiro in second and Claudio Gaggioni in third.

More podiums here

Wataru Takashiro leaves Kyosho

Source: Wataru Takashiro (Facebook) 

Japanese frontrunner Wataru Takashiro has announced his departure from long-time sponsor Kyosho. W.akashiro leaves behind a pretty successful campaign with countless wins in Japan but also at international events such as the DCRC Championship and the Chunchoen Worldleisure Championship. He had the following to say:

Continue reading here

2019 Psycho Nitro Blast report

Source: Psycho Nitro Blast (Facebook)

This past weekend was held the 12th annual Psycho Nitro Blast at the Walter State Expo Center in White Pine, Tennessee. The event, maybe the biggest in the world attracted 753 entries and 357 unique drivers. The event was held in the usual Nitro and Electric classes. In the Pro Nitro Buggy class it was Ryan Lutz (Agama) who set the overall TQ but he couldn’t convert the P1 spot into a win as Tyler Jones TLR) brought home the win from Joe Bornhorst (Tekno) in second. R.Lutz came in third. In the Pro E-Buggy class ti was J.Bornhorst who set the pace by claiming the overall TQ after the qualifying rounds and also the win from R.Lutz in second and Dakotah Phend (TLR) in third.

Continue reading here

David Ronnefalk doubles at 2019 HB Racing European Race Days

See: HB Racing

The first edition of the 2019 HB Racing European Race Days was held this past weekend at the ARCF42 track near Lyon, France. David Ronnefalk, Cole Ogden as well as Philippe Neidhart, Didier Boulmier, Nano and Jean-Marc Betticher from HB Racing/ Team Orion/Performa were also there to support all drivers while Adrien Bertin put on a clinic focussed on chassis settings. In the E-buggy class it was Cole who set the overall TQ but after four A-mains, David was able to win all four in the end. Hampus Berg came in third after some great fights with Cole and David. In the Nitro buggy class, the race format was three 15-minute finals. The finals were a 3-horse battle between David, Cole and Hampus. Cole won the first final as David made a big mistake in the chicane and had to retire with a few minutes to go. After his DNF in A1, David was in control of things and he was able to win the last two finals and secured the overall victory. Cole came in second and Hampus in third.

E-buggy podium here

CJ Jelin wins at SoCal Shootout


This past weekend was held the SoCal Shootout at the Pro-line headquarters, in Banning, California. In the E-buggy class it was Kyle Turner (XRAY) who set the TQ and after a good battle with Cj Jelin (Kyosho) throughout the main, K.Turner ended up making a couple mistakes. Cj Jelin took the opportunity to grab the win, leaving behind K.Turner in second and Dylan Nelson (TLR) in third.

Ty Tessmann doubles at Big Barn Shootout


This past weekend was held the Big Barn Shootout in Chilliwack, Canada. The track was very large, fast and a cool layout. This year they had a lot more entries which made for longer days and stiffer competition, with drivers coming from as far as Ontario and the North western United States as well as western Canada. The higher numbers made the track surface different from last year, it started out smooth and low grip, as the weekend went along the grip came up and the track started to develop some holes and ruts, which made the main events more challenging. Official practice started at 11am and went until 10pm, this was limited to 5 practice sessions per class entered and was regulated by punch cards. Saturday after 3 round of qualifying, Ty Tessmann (XRAY) was able to take the TQ in both classes. Up first on Sunday was A1 of E-buggy. T.Tessmann got a good start and he was able to lead the race from start to finish. He used A2 to test tires for the nitro main one more time and he was again able to take the win which gave him the overall win in E-buggy. Mason Henderson (Team Associated) and Tyler Wonders (Tekno) rounded out the top 3.

Continue reading here

HNMC Summer Series Rd1 report

The HNMC Summer Series kicked off with 84 racers rewarded with a super fast high grip track for this round thanks to the track crew for their work again. Qualifying was going to be tight with Jon Skidmore (Agama) taking the TQ in nitro buggy, Simon Reeves (HB Racing) taking E-buggy and John Afshin (Agama) taking Truggy. The nitro buggy final was an epic battle between Callum Niblett (XRAY) and Lewis Jones (Team Associated) swapping places over the last 12 minutes. In the end, C.Niblett brought home the win from L.Jones in second and S.Reeves in third. In the E-buggy class it was Darren Hayden-Ball (Team Associated) with the win followed by Matt Bridge (Tekno) in second while S.Reeves came in third. In Truggy, J.Afshin took the win quite easily 😉

More podiums here