Lap Paradise Raceway once again hosted the final round of the Singapore RCMC 1/8 Nitro Buggy National over the weekend. The Lap Paradise crew have done an excellent job preparing and watering the track the day before to ensure the drivers have an exciting race. A total of 45 drivers attended the event which was held in 1/8 Buggy, Truggy and E-buggy classes and good weather made for perfect racing conditions. Defending Champion Joe Hwee (HB/OS/AKA) was in very good shape and claimed the overall TQ after topping all the three qualifiers. Fadzil (Mugen/OS/PL) who recently show good pace during the FEMCA race managed to put in a clean run in Q3 to claimed P2 while Wenyi (Mugen/OS/PL) and Ah Leng (Mugen/Mugen/AKA) managed to qualified third and fourth and Young Gun Danial (Kyosho/OS/PL) qualified fifth.

In the 60-minute final, J.Hwee and Fadzil had a bad start and drop to the last after the first lap while Wenyi and Danial were on the front guys issue and lead the pack. The duo swaped positions during the first half of the final while J.Hwee was working hard to catch them, at one point he managed exchange lap with the pairs but run out of fuel twice and drop him down the order. Meanwhile Esmail (HB/Picco/AKA) coming from 11th position was running well and was holding on to P3 but in the last 5 minutes of the race Joe recovered from his early issue and is charging hard and closing up to his team mate. While the clock is just about to expired and J.Hwee hoped of catching up to Esmail is fading away, a mistake on the five packs section just two corners from the finished line, allow J.Hwee to snatch last podium spot. The race ended with Danial Miswan (Kyosho/OS/PL/Sanwa/VP) in first and Wenyi in second.

After 6 rounds of exciting races, J.Hwee managed to take another title based on best 4 of 6 races. Young driver Danial despite winning the final race once again, only managed to finished 2nd at the National standings, Kai (HongNor/OS/AKA) which have bad final race managed to hold on to third overall while Mugen Duo of Fadzil and Leng finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Overall National Top 10 (Best 4 of 6)

  1. Joe Hwee (HB/OS/AKA/Sanwa/VP)
  2. Danial Miswan (Kyosho/OS/PL/Sanwa/VP)
  3. Kai (HongNor/OS/AKA/Sanwa/Byron)
  4. Fadzil (Mugen/OS/PL/Sanwa/VP)
  5. Leng (Mugen/OS/AKA/Sanwa/Byron)
  6. Ronnie Leow (HB/Nova/AKA/Sanwa/VP)
  7. Aidi Amin (Mugen/Kabuto/AKA/Futaba/VP)
  8. Anthony Yeo (Mugen/Mugen/AKA/Sanwa/Byron)
  9. Ericster Boon (Mugen/OS/AKA/Sanwa/Byron)
  10. Kenneth Yuen (HB/Orion/AKA/Sanwa/VP)

Thanks to Julia Chia – JuC Racing for the report.