This past weekend was held the second round of the Norwegian 1/8 Nitro and E-buggy Nationals at the Hof Raceway located less than an hour from Oslo. It has been extremely hot in Norway past weeks making challenging conditions with a hard track with a lot of bumps. Saturday started off with four qualifications round in nitro buggy, and XRAY factory driver Daniel Kobbevik won three out of four qualifiers to take the overall TQ from Lars Erik Moe (XRAY) and Danny Kwiatkowski (Kyosho). After a perfect run in his Semi, Kobbevik started in pole position behind Mugen duo of Morten Torkildsen and 3 Hans Magne Berg. Lars Erik Mo had a lot off struggle in his semi, a flame out put him far back in the field, but he picked up the speed and he managed to come back and after semis was over he was going to start from sixth at the grid in A-final.

The final didn’t start out well for Kobbevik with some trouble with rubber on wheels going off, so he had to go in and change tyres just after done 10 laps, he almost lost two laps. He had to change the fuel strategy to try to get back in the game but a flame out set him further back. Kobbevik got out there and he went fast up to second after some really hard fighting with the other drivers. Lars Erik Mo had a huge lead up front, but Kobbevik slowly came closer and closer. Three minutes before the end it was only 10 seconds gap between those two drivers. Lars Erik did some mistakes and Kobbevik took the opportunity take the win in front of Lars Erik Mo in second and Egil Amtedal (Serpent) in third.

Nitro Buggy final results:

  1. Daniel Kobbevik XRAY FX Runnertime
  2. Lars Erik Moe XRAY FX Runnertime
  3. Egil Amtedal Serpent OS Runnertimer
  4. Morten Torkildsen Mugen FX Hotfire
  5. Bastian Andreassen Serpent OS Optifuel
  6. Gisle Brøvig Kyosho Werks Werks
  7. Hans M. Berg Mugen Bullit Hotfire
  8. Danny Kwiatkowski Kyosho Reds Byron
  9. Torbjorn Doler Kyosho Reds Byron
  10. Dan T. Bjornflaten Serpent OS Byron

In E-buggy Kobbevik took TQ in front of Vincent Rüger (HB Racing) and Mathias Fink (Mugen). In A1 Kobbevik drove away from the rest of the field from the start and took an easy win. The fight for second and third was harder but it ended with Mathias Fink took second position in front of Danny Kwiatkowski. In A 2 Kobbevik just pushed away and took another easy win. This time it was a really hard fight between Fink and Rüger whitch switched positions many times, but Fink was a little unlucky and missed the jump before straight. Rüger ended in second and Kwiatkowski in third. In A 3 Fink, Kwiatkowski and Rüger fought for podium and after some nice battles it was eventualy Fink who took the win from Kwiatkowski and Torbjorn Doler (XRAY).

E-Buggy final results:

  1. Daniel Kobbevik XRAY Hobbywing EZpower
  2. Mathias Fink Mugen Tekin
  3. Danny Kwiatkowski Kyosho Reds Orion
  4. Vincent Rüger Hotbodies Tekin
  5. Torbjorn Doler XRAY Tekin LRP
  6. Clayton Petree Hotbodies Hobbywing Orion
  7. Sani Gunic Mugen Hobbywing Orion
  8. Mattis O. Berg Mugen Tekin Orion
  9. Hans B. Revhaug XRAY Hobbywing EZpower

Thanks to Magne Kobbevik for the report.