The first round of the Norwegian Nitro Buggy and E-Buggy Championships were held at the KMBK astro track in Kristiansand, in the south of Norway over the weekend. This year the Nitro buggy and E-buggy classes were held in the same weekend. The weekend started off again with a bit off rain, but it came out nice sunshine and hot weather. If the track was a bit slippery in the morning, the grip was more better during the day.

After five rounds of qualifications in Nitro Buggy Daniel Kobbevik (XRAY) took the overall TQ and set a new track record from Tom Erik Haaversen (Serpent) and Gisle Brøvig (Kyosho). Haaversen won easely the semi final B, while the semi final A was more difficulty for Kobbevik. He had a huge lead over Brøvig, then the receiver battery contact was loose and with 3 minutes left, but the gap was enough for Kobbevik so he can start six in the A-main.

The 45-minute final started out with Daniel going from position six to the first in the first lap. He pushed away right away, but Haaversen got into the rhythm, and slowly picked up on Kobbevik pace for a little while, but he made some small mistakes and Kobbevik got away. Unfortunately Haaversen had an issue with his engine later and when he get back on the track it was too late for the podium. Haaversen out, the fight for the second and third spot began between Brøvig, Egil Amtedal (Serpent) and Bastian Andreassen (Serpent). In the end Kobbevik took a very convincing win while Brøvig and Amtedal rounded out the podium.

Final results:

  1. Daniel Kobbevik XRAY FX Runnertime
  2. Gisle Brøvig Kyosho Werks Werks
  3. Egil Amtedal Serpent OS Runnertime
  4. Bastian Andreassen Serpent OS Runnertime
  5. Danny Kwiatkowsky Kyosho Reds Byron
  6. Helge Olsen Serpent OS Runnertime
  7. Hans Magne Berg Mugen Bullit Nitrolux
  8. Tom Erik Haaversen Serpent OS Runnertime
  9. Dan terje Bjornflaten. Serpent. Os. Byron
  10. Sani Gunic. Mugen. Os. Byron

Thanks to Magne Kobbevik for the report.