This past weekend was held the third round of the10th “XRAY Racing Series” (XRS) at Midlands Raceway. The club team changed the track again and pulled out the tricky jump rhythm section and replaced it with a new table-top, 180 degree corner and step-down section that was a little easier for the drivers but equally fun, along with a HUGE kicker jump after the main straight to add the 3D element in the challenging layout. The XRS was held in the ever-popular 2wd Stock Class (with handout Hobbywing 13.5T motors), 2wd Mod, 4wd Mod and Stadium Trucks.

2wd 13.5 Stock class

XRAY’s Kirk Beasley dominated 13.5 Class qualifying and could’ve found himself in the Top 5 in Modified class such was his pace, however a scrappy and somewhat unfortunate Final meant he was unable to finish the A Final leaving the door wide open for Team Associated driver Nick Priest, Ben Hillier and Gavin Stokes to battle it out at the front all setting mid 14 second lap times, Kirk squeezed in a blistering 13.69 second lap in the final.

2wd 13.5 Stock class podium:

  1. Nick Priest – Team Associated B6
  2. Ben Hillier – XRAY XB2
  3. Gavin Stokes – XRAY XB2

2wd Modified class

The fastest 2wd Mod guys took to the track and were immediately flying with XRAY’s Dom Nunn setting a TQ time in round 1 that wouldn’t be beaten all day and the win in the A Final followed by latest XRAY driver Tony Bishop in second. Third place was a slightly unsettled Jamie Beasley, usually extremely strong at his home track but clearly not having the luck today.

2wd Modified class podium

  1. Dom Nunn – XRAY XB2
  2. Tony Bishop – XRAY XB2
  3. Jamie Beasley – Schumacher KF

4wd Modified class

Slightly lower in number today, but the racing was excellent, the drivers showing great control on the tricky track and jump sections, it looked like everyone was showing each other a great level of respect and this was applauded by race control and the commentator for the day. XRAY driver Robert Shaw took a well deserved win followed by Zain Mughal and TQ man Euan Jarman in third.

4wd Modified class podium:

  1. Robert Shaw – XRAY XB4
  2. Zain Mughal – Associated B64
  3. Euan Jarman – XRAY XB4

2wd Modified Stadium Truck class

It was again a close battle through qualifying between XRAY Greg Hill and Team Associated’s Daniel Hopkins. Greg TQ’d all but the last round of qualifying, but Daniel held it together and set a faster TQ in the last round and with it overall TQ!! In the finals it all got a bit messy sadly early on and Greg dropped way back, but come the last lap both drivers were neck and neck going over a mid-field jump, where Greg rolled over and allowed Daniel to take the win and young up-and-coming driver Ben Kirkham took third.

2wd Modified Stadium Truck class podium:

  1. Daniel Hopkins – Team Associated T5M
  2. Greg Hill – XRAY XT2
  3. Ben Kirkham – XRAY XT2