The NOOB race was held once again on the loose dirt track in Singapore, providing vastly different traction condition after the previous day’s Urban Astro Buggy Champs. XRAY’s Kum Yew secured the TQ honours while his teammate Dennis Chiang would line up in 2nd on the grid. In the finals, Kum Yew got off to a bumpy start when a collision at the new step down feature dropped him down the field. Mark Lim capitalized to take the lead, with Danny Png in 2nd and Dennis in 3rd. With Kum Yew suffering a DNF, the race finished in that order. In Leg 2, while Kum Yew led off the start, he lost the lead to teammate Dennis after a coming together with a back-marker. Calm and measured driving saw Kum Yew regain the lead from Dennis, and hold out for the win.

This set up an exciting showdown for the final leg with 3 drivers still in contention for the overall win. After a clean start, Kum Yew and Dennis led the field around. With growing confidence, Kum Yew put in consistent laps to pull away from the field. However, traffic at the tight step down feature caught Kum Yew out once again, and allowed the chasing pack to close in on him. Kum Yew once again dug deep and managed to complete the rest of the final mistake-free to win Leg-3 and secure a hard-fought overall win with his new car. Dennis recovered from a rough Leg-3 final to finish overall 2nd, while Mark Lim was overall 3rd.

4WD Buggy A-Main results:

  1. Kum Yew – XRAY XB4
  2. Dennis Chiang- XRAY XB4
  3. Mark Lim (Yokomo)
  4. Kamen Koh (Serpent)
  5. Danny Png (Yokomo)
  6. Fazly (PR)
  7. Sean Lee (Tamiya)
  8. Thomas Teo (Serpent)