See: RC-Pitbox

The final round of the Answer RC Sponsored Nitroxcross series took part on Sunday 19th Feb 2017, down at Nene Valley raceway, with 68 drivers and the championship up for grabs it would be a close and competitive day of racing. The track, although a week of bad weather was looking good, grip was intermittent though, with some places still damp making it hard to get the perfect lines and making tyre choice tricky!

It was Milan’s MX powered HB buggy took the TQ in the first three rounds, but team mate Graham Alsop and his HB car was hot on his heels and took the final TQ in round 4, meaning he would line up 2nd on the grid for the main behind Milan. The 2 Tekno/Bullett machines of Carlo De Marco and Michael Lightfoot would be 3rd and 4th respectively and the Werks powered TLR of Chris Leighton that rounded of the top 5.

The first final of the day was the F final. Tekno E-buggy young gun Camereon Rich had the best start, taking the lead early on and making it stick, taking the eventual win by over a lap! Stuart Wright and his Sworks machine came in 2nd and young TLR driver Ethan Abbott got 3rd and the final bump spot to the E final! Camereon continued his fantastic form, with an outstanding drive from 12th on the grid to 3rd, and another bump up, his Tekno looked superb! Fellow Tekno driver Steve Collinson took the 2nd spot only 4s behind winner Mike Peasley and his Reds powered Sworkz buggy, Mike starting on pole and leading for the duration of the 15mins Race!

In the D final Pole sitter Paul Williams and his TLR machine lead for the early part of the race, but eventual winner Sean Wiles and his Tekno took the lead on lap 10 and went on to win in style, over 5s up on 2nd place man Ray Peasley and his Reds powered Sworks buggy. The drive of the final was by Winston Barnett and his Agama who went from 10th to take the final bump spot. A great bit of racing!

The C final was a battle between 3 or 4 of the drivers, with Neil Davies and his Xray car eventually going on to win. 2nd and 3rd were hard fought battle between the Agama of Dave Williams and the AE of Nicky Davies. Both driver trading places on a number of occasions! A fantastic bit of close racing by the pair, but it was Dave who eventually took the 2nd place ahead of Nicky and his Rex powered machine, but by less than 4s!

The B final was all about the TLR of Jon Spenser, he lead from buzzer to flag! He had an amazing drive winning by over 25s! Very impressive!! Long time 2nd place man Shaun Stenson and his Mugen had an incident that saw him return to the pits, leaving Wes Jolly and his Tekno to take the 2nd place, with the Nova powered Sworkz of Dave Brown taking the final bump to the A.

The A final was going to be a close contest by the two HB guys, Milan and Graham! They were phenomenal, showing their superior class in the extremely good field of racers, both cars dialled. They both took turns on having the lead and both ended up 2 laps up on the rest of the finalists! It was Milan who took the win after the epic on track battle. Graham came home 2nd. There was also a fantastic drive from bump up driver Jon Spenser and his TLR car to take third on the Day!

As it was the final round of the championship it was also Presentation Day! Top Veteran in the series was Chris Lovell and his Soar Seiki 998 2017. Top Jnr was Aaron Ford and his Ninja powered Mugen Car. The Series Winner was Milan Dragolovic and his MX powered HB, with Chris Leighton and his Werks powered TLR 2nd and Chris Lovell also got the 3rd in the series overall and East Shrewsbury took the Club Championship!

A fantastic day to complete the series! Thanks to all the racers, organisers and the Sponsors Answer RC for the great prizes. A full list of the days results, and championship standings can be found at Details of the summer series can also be found there and booking in for this opens on Friday 24th Feb at 6pm.

Thanks to Juliet Exall for the report.