See: RC-Pitbox

Last weekend was the 5th Round of the very popular “Answer RC” sponsored NitroXcross Series and despite the “typical” British weather conditions a very good turn-out would make for some competitive and close racing. As always the track at Ledbury was looking good, massive well done to the team at the club and the 4 rounds of qualifying was underway bright and early! It was local HB man Nathan Powney who got the first round TQ. Nathan went on to repeat his TQ in round 3 leaving him overall TQ for the meeting and 1st on the grid in the A final. TLR man Chris Leighton took the TQ in round 2 with his Werks powered machine and Sworkz “Young Gun” Lewis Beach took the final round, but it was fellow Sworkz driver Kevin Brunsden that got 2nd overall with some fantastic consistant driving, with the Bullett powered Agama of Jon Hazelwood getting the 3rd spot. Chris Leighton would sit 4th and Matt Box and his Soar Seiki would be 5th.

The first final of the day was the D final. Pole man Clinton Dredge and his Mugen had a hard first lap putting him down the field. It was the Radiosistemi V2 of Richard Whitefoot that came through the pack to take the lead early in the race and go on to win in fine style, his Nova Rossi powered buggy getting the lap on the rest of the field as the buzzer went. Stephen Brunsden and his Agama would also have a great race from 6th on the grid to finish 2nd, and Ebuggy TLR man Dave Mayne would come home 3rd.

The C final was a good battle between a few drivers, Pole sitter Mark Morris and his Agama held the lead early on in the race, but the Mugen buggy of Jack Hawkins went on to lead the middle part of the race, but all the time Lee Curvis and his Speedbull Powered Soar Seiki were working their way through the field. Lee took the lead just after half way and that’s where he stayed. Lee took the win by over 17 seconds from Xray man Kieran Morris in 2nd, and a superb drive from Ray Sargent from 11th on the grid secured 3rd by just 5 seconds. Rays FX powered HB car handling the conditions well to get him the bump!

The B final was eventually won by the TLR buggy of Huw Jenkins, but he had a battle, Sworkz Ebuggy man Neil Sivins and Kyosho MP9E driver Jake Knight were all in the running, all swapping places and they all pulled away from the rest of the field at the end, with Jake finishing 2nd and Neil 3rd, all a lap up as 15mins ended. Some fantastic close and good racing by all of the drivers in this final, and the weather didn’t exactly make life easy.

As the A final approached, the weather worsened! After a great first couple of laps it was Sworks driver Lewis Beach that took the early lead, with the Soar Seiki buggy of Chris Lovell hot on his heels, a great start from Chris who went from 11th on the grid to 2nd. A great on track battle ensued with Matt Box and Chris Leighton trying to get a grip on the lead. It was the “one-stopping” buggy of Matt Box who took the lead at the pit stops, his Speedbull powered Soar Machine took the top spot on lap 14 and he went on to take the win, eventually getting the extra lap in, but what a battle with the other leading drivers! Chris Lovell also driving a Soar Seiki and Chris Leighton’s TLR were so close in time and on track, swapping places on track behind the lead driver. The TLR machine got the 2nd spot late on and a brilliant move by Kevin Brunsden on the last laps saw him take the 3rd place from Chris Lovell. A very mature drive by the lead man and some great driving by all of the guys, fantastic close racing and great to watch!

With only one round to go now in the series it’s all up for grabs at Round 6, which takes place on 19th February. All of the day’s results as well as the series standings and booking in for the final round can be found at

Thanks to Matt Box for the report.