Milan Winner Nitro sat and sunday

The latest 2 rounds of the Nemo NitroXCross Series took place this weekend at the brand new JC Raceway near Cleobury Mortima, which is in part run by the crew that ran Frankley Model Car Club, and also by the JC Racing products team. The track was dirt/grass with a few features and as it was brand new, a level playing field for all competitors as it had never been driven before.

On Saturday and Round 11 of the series only four Nitro drivers managed the magical 10 laps, Graham Alsop managed it and a TQ in 2 rounds with his Xray car to get the overall TQ. John Holmes and his Radiosistemi RR8 V2 took the TQ in the final round to give him second overall and Milan Dragojlovic and his Kyosho MP9 TKI4 also took a TQ in round 3 giving him 3rd, with TLR driver Mike Lewis the 4th driver managing 10 laps, getting 4th. Jon Howells rounded off the top 5 with his AE. In the electric class it was AE driver Lloyd Pitt who took the overall TQ with 3 fine rounds wins, Jake Knight got 2nd and Mugen Driver Chris Lovell got 3rd on the grid.

The first Final of the day was the E final, Junior AE driver Alex Hedley took a comfortable win from 4th on the grid after a very good drive. HB Driver David Lee was 2nd and Neal Frances came home 3rd. Alex continued with another superb drive In the D Final – from 12th to a fine 6th place. At the top of the D final was Sworks driver Sam Guppy, he took a great win by 4second over Xray driver Jamie Bowen in 2nd. Simon Davies and his fine looking RR8 took the 3rd and final bump spot up into the C. Billy Smith and his Sworks/Nova Rossi Combo were pole in the final and he made the advantage stick, he drove brilliantly to take the 2nd spot behind Tekno driver Carlo De Marco, who looks awesome, getting the extra lap on the rest of the field. Matt Frances and his TLR came in 3rd. The B final had some good drivers, Mark Westwood and his AE took the top spot and first bump into the A. 10 seconds back was the RR8/Werks combo of Carl O’Connor taking the 2nd bump and fellow RR8 man John Broadhurst took the 3rd bump to the main.

The A final was going to be tough, some great drivers going for the win. Graham dominated the first part of the race but John and Milan were in hot pursuit as the 3 pulled a lead out on the rest of the pack. John Holmes came into the lead in the middle part of the race, banging in some very fast laps to keep ahead of the others, but it was Milan who managed to take the win, he took the lead on lap 27 until the final buzzer, eventually winning by 20s from AE driver Jon Howells, TLR driver Matt Lewis took 3rd with a very fine drive from 8th on the grid and Graham took 4th. 2nd to 4th was barely 5 seconds after 25 mins. John Holmes took 5th.

In the Electric Final it was Lloyd who once again dominated, he took a superb win even getting the extra lap on the field. Chris Lovell and Jake Knight swapped places from the grid with Chris 2nd and Jake 3rd, Jake was being pushed though, with Gareth Harold and his AE less than 2s behind him. Some great close racing all day and a very exciting end with the A finals!

On Sunday and Round 12 and a slight change in the driving line up! Mike Lewis took the TQ in Nitro, Jon Howells bettered his previous days performance also with a 2nd and Milan would line up 3rd. TLR driver Simon Willets would take the 4thspot and Jnr AE driver James Harold would take 5th. In Electric Chris Lovell took the TQ in the last 3 rounds to get the overall 1st place, Lloyds would line up 2nd and Jake 3rd – it was all to play for in the final. Lloyd and Chris would take turns in the lead in the E-Buggy final, but a problem late on for Lloyd meant a return to the pits and Chris went on to take an easy win with his RC concepts powered Mugen. Jake came home in 2nd and Ben Doyle 3rd. In Nitro the Steven Milne turned his Pole into a win but wow was it close, he crossed the line side by side with the Sworks of Richard Turner, and won by 0.35 of a second! Dan Evans and his TLR came in 3rd.

In the D final TLR got the win with Darren Moult, they also got 2nd with Jnr driver jack Willets. He had a great drive from 5th on the grid to take the 2nd bump. 2rd was AE driver Russell Lee. Jack would better his D final drive in the C by going from 12th to first. Another brilliant drive by the young man! Pole man and Tekno driver Daniel Austin came home in 2nd and Sworks driver Sam Guppy was 3rd. Peter Mumford would win the B final, after swapping the lead with pole man Billy Smith for most of the race, Billy would end up taking 3rd behind AE driver Jon Griffiths, but there was half a second between them, practically crossing the line together. Once again it was young Jack Willets who had another awesome drive, from 11th to 4th and narrowly missing out on yet another bump.

The A final would once again be a great race, Mike Lewis lead the final for the early part but he could not break away from Milan and Jon Howells, Milan took the lead as Mike dropped back and Jon retained his 2nd position hot after the lead car, after some more position swapping it was Milan who took the win, Mike 2nd and Jon 3rd. Anthony Conroy and his RR8 would come home 4th and the sworks of Chris Leighton 5th. Another great weekend of racing with some thrills and spills, the next round of the series is at ESBRC on the Aug Bank holiday weekend, well done to all the winners and massive well done to the JC Raceway crew for getting the venue ready for the very first time.

Check out the website for more information on the series including all the booking in, results and news here.

Thanks to Juliet Exall for the report.