Worlds Coverage Links:
Coverage Page | Videos | Photos | History | – Day 7 Photo Gallery 
Overall Finals Results | Final Standings (4WD) | Video: A1, A2, A3

Those readers who haven’t followed our 4WD Worlds coverage may be a little unfamiliar with the name Bruno Coelho, better known for his touring car prowess, it’s fair to say that the 2015 IFMAR Worlds have produced two new ‘surprise’ World Champions – few would have picked them as favourites prior to the events, but during them, they came to be dominant forces.

ECSA9066 ECSA9068 ECSA9073 ECSA9087

More Photos here

Coelho’s march to the top was evident as he was immediately setting the pace already from early practice, going onto TQ 4/5 rounds of qualifying and take A finals one and two, the first slightly controversial with Coelho misjudging the blind table top up ramp, landing on the wrong side of the track, waiting for just long enough to satisfy himself and the head referee, rivals called for justice and blood after the final, a protest was lodged, later withdrawn and the A1 result made official.

Watch Videos of: A1, A2, A3

ECSA9093 ECSA9155 ECSA9187 ECSA9206

All this only served to fire up the quiet 22 year old Portuguese star, rare to show emotion, he went onto crush the field in A2, an anticlimax of a final but only goes to show how Coelho had everyone beat on the day. The 3rd A final going to warm up winner and 4x World Champion Naoto Matsukura securing himself the runner up spot and David Ronnefalk taking the final spot on the 4WD Worlds Podium. Disappointment for 2nd placed qualifier Michal Orlowski, at only 14-years old suffered nerves in A1, he was out driven and out muscled by those around him.

Watch Videos of: A1, A2, A3

ECSA9214 ECSA9225 ECSA9255 ECSA9259

To sum up Yatabe Arena put on a brilliantly professional event, we thank Hiroshi Suzuki, his staff, IFMAR, Masami Hirosaka and Miura-san for their kindness, hospitality and hosting us. The astroturf surface provided a completely different challenge to drivers compared with past ‘dirt’ World Championships and perhaps different Champions as well, they are however both very worthy Champions – the right guys won in the end Spencer & Bruno.


4wd overall