Two time Champion made it a threesome in Pattaya… as Atsushi Hara reminded everyone that he is undoubtedly the unrivalled King round these parts. Having driven from the back despite starting on pole in A1, Hara would have to do the same in A2 with a reversed grid, handing TQ man Wataru Takashiro pole position after his disastrous A1 finishing last, retiring after having broken a front arm on his MP9 (look out for Zac Ryan’s future Under the Hood, it’ll be of interest) – thus putting Wataru sadly out of contention.

EUR_5887 EUR_5805 EUR_5757 EUR_5674

The youngster put in an awesome drive, pushing his car to the absolute limits, however Atsushi Hara motored his way through the pack which included a brief early leading stint for 2002 IFMAR World Champ Greg Degani who rolled back the years with a little dogfight with 2008 World Champ Atsushi Hara – it looked as if Wataru had an ounce more raw speed than Hara, however his higher risk style driving both rewarded, and punished him laptime wise, a few bad crashes late on allowing Hara to close an 8 sec lead. After the pitstops it was clear that despite a few sub-par results with his SWORKz buggy, Hara is still a true force to be reckoned with as he takes his hat trick ASIA Contest title.

EUR_5907 EUR_5913 EUR_5663 EUR_5666

Wataru ended up taking 2nd in A2, he will leave thinking about what might have been, Zac Ryan overcoming a scare in the semis with a DNS used maximum ESRR and got it done taking a 2nd despite two pitlane flameouts and a 3rd in A2 after a hard fought battle with Degani.

Serious mention for the Thai drivers, the youngsters, Napatratree in 4th, Jason from Indonesia starting to blossom making dad Michael smile with delight in pitlane, whilst it was a final of familys with father & son Takashiro racing on the same dirt as well as brothers ‘Boy’ Witsarut & (the inexplicably named) ‘Boat’ Wichpoom.

EUR_5896 EUR_5881 EUR_5805 EUR_5799 EUR_5705 EUR_5700 EUR_5698 EUR_5913

Also congrats to Felix Heyse for his crushing performance in the open class, victory fully deserved. Thank you to the PRC crew, Samart, Davide, Scotty, Charlie & the Aussie-Swede Wolfpack for the fun, laughs, racing and banter!

asia 2015 final