Haasbroek wins at S.African Nat R2

The second round of the South African nationals was held last weekend at the TRAP racing venue in Pretoria. Qualifying saw TRAP local Tiaan Oelofse show some super fast pace winning two of the four qualifiers. However, TQ went to JQ-Products team driver Miguel Haasbroek who managed to claim it in Q4 as Tiaan suffered from a flame out on the last lap. Warren van der Merwe qualified in the 3rd spot. In the A-final Tiaan took an early lead as Miguel suffered from a poor start and had to try to work his way through the pack. 

Miguel having an economical REDS motor would lead to Tiaan coming out the pits right in front of Miguel after his 1st pit stop as Miguel had not pitted yet. Running within a second of each other Miguel managed to take the lead before the 10min mark and would go on to take a convincing victory over the rest of the field. Warren having a clean race would finish in 2nd ahead of Tiaan in 3rd. Results were:

  1. Miguel Haasbroek -JQ/REDS/AKA
  2. Warren van der Merwe -Agama/Bullitt/Beta
  3. Tiaan Oelofse -Sworks/Bullitt/Beta
  4. Thomas Schmuck -JQ/REDS/AKA
  5. Chris vd Westhuizen -Mugen/Novarossi/Proline

Haasbroek wins at S.African Nat R2

In electric, Thomas Schmuck recently changed to JQ-Products and found himself setting the pace on the weekend by taking the TQ and win by winning all 3 legs of the final. Electric Top 5 results:

  1. Thomas Schmuck -JQ
  2. Chris vd Westhuizen -TeamC
  3. Christoff Meyer -Xray
  4. Ewan Koen -Team Associated
  5. Morne Louw -Agama