The dust has settled, and only the rubber that produced the optimum racing line remains at A Main Hobbies’ Silver Dollar RC Raceway. With hundreds of racers competing in the Inaugural Silver Dollar Off-Road Challenge thousands of laps were put in by racers who ran on the new surface and said it was one of the best they’d ever competed on. Racers were also stoked with the 16 features world-renown track builder, Joey Christensen, utilized to create one epic 1/8-scale layout.

Blair wins at Silver Dollar Challenge

The track took centre stage during the weekend’s race, but when it was all said and done two of A Main Hobbies’ rising stars, Austin Blair and Dylan Rodriguez stole the show. Blair and Rodriguez wrapped up the coveted pro classes proving that the two of them are quickly approaching “elite speed” and becoming contenders at every race they attend.

16-year-old and AKA team driver Austin Blair top-qualified Pro Buggy, Pro 4WD Short Course Truck and went onto win all of the three classes he competed in: Pro Buggy, Pro 4WD Short Course Truck on a set of Gridirons, and Pro eBuggy with his Soft Impacts. For the 45-minute Pro Buggy main he decided to run Medium Impacts while many other drivers stayed on soft compounds. The decision paid off greatly as Blair almost lapped the entire field while taking 1st in the main.

A Main’s Dylan Rodriguez has also been showing off a new-found speed that has other pros taking notice when he steps up to the rail of any driver’s stand. Rodriquez took TQ honours in 1/8-scale Pro Truck and easily took the win after battling early with Kyosho’s Sean Gafney. Rodriguez backed up his Pro Truck win with a solid second place finish in Pro Buggy.

A Main Hobbies’ CEO Kendall Bennett was one of the busiest racers at the Off-Road Challenge racing for two and a half hours in four different “A” mains. Bennett started first on the grid for both 40+ classes, which he went onto to win. He also ran alongside the pros in both 45-minute Pro Buggy and Pro Truck “A” mains.

A Main Hobbies would like to thank title sponsors Team Associated, Pro-Line Racing, Tekno RC, and Byron Fuels.

SDRCR Off-Road Challenge Winners:

Pro 1/8-scale Buggy:

  1. Austin Blair
  2. Dylan Rodriguez
  3. Philip Atondo

Pro 1/8-scale Truck:

  1. Dylan Rodriguez
  2. Steven Hartson
  3. Curtis Door

Pro eBuggy:

  1. Austin Blair
  2. Richard Saxton
  3. Lou Figueria

Pro eTruggy:

  1. Randy Pike
  2. Kameron Kerndt
  3. Ethan Hanna

Pro 4WD SCT:

  1. Austin Blair
  2. Loui Figueria
  3. Josh O’Connell