This past weekend was the RC Pro International Finals @ Diamond W Arena in Alvarado, TX. The race program was a little lighter this year due to the Worlds in Thailand but with 250+ entries and a National Championship up for grabs there was still plenty of quality racing and quality drivers competing for the title. The track was big and flowing at the beginning of the week but because the race program decided to keep the tack wet it became about as rough as a track could become which made for some tight, tough and at times frustrating racing. Read More…

Pro Nitro Buggy:

In the Pro Buggy Final it was David Joor who showed the most consistency on qualifying day landing his Losi 2.0 on the pole position for the 1 hour final. In the main Joor’s motor cut right off the start allowing Patrick Castleberry and his Xray 808 to make the first lap as the leader followed closely by Durango’s Lutz with Xray’s Branham in third. Lutz had a motor problem allowing Branham into 2nd and not far behind Castleberry. Branham then got past Castleberry to lead for the next 45 minutes until a late charge from Mugen’s Mike Battaile made it a race to the end. Branham and Battaile swapped positions back and forth for the last two minutes of the race. The race came down to a side by side dash for the finish line with Branham barely edging out Battaile for the win. The win gave Branham the points he needed to take the National Championship for Pro Buggy. You can see from the video below the fight to the finish line between the two and a taste of just how rough the track had become.

Top 3 overall for Pro Buggy:

1. Jason Branham – Xray, Pro-Line, OS, Byron
2. Mike Battaile – Mugen, AKA, OS, Power Master
3. Patrick Castleberry – Xray, AKA, Max Power, Power Master

Pro Arena Truck:

In the Pro Arena Truck Final it was Ryan Lutz using a barrowed Mugen who was fastest on qualifying day to set him up as TQ on the grid for the main. Ryan was out and running strong in the top position when motor problems caused him to exit the track early which handed over the lead to Xray’s Patrick Castleberry. Castleberry was now sitting comfortably in the lead followed by Mike Battaile and Jason Branham. Castleberry then began compounding mistakes allowing Battaile to take the lead and eventual win with Castleberry finishing behind in 2nd with Branham in 3rd. The win gave Battaile the points he needed to take the win for the National Championship as well.

Top 3 overall for Pro Arena Truck:

1. Mike Battaile – Mugen, AKA, Ninja, Power Master
2. Jason Branham – Xray, Pro-Line, OS, Byron
3. Patrick Castleberry – Xray, AKA, Max Power, Power Master

Pro Electric Buggy:

In the Pro Electric Buggy Final again it was David Joor who had things figured out on qualifying day setting up his Losi Eight 2.0E up on the pole position for the AAA format. David suffered problems right off the bat in A1 stripping his spur gear in warm up causing him to miss the main. In A2 David was on a mission to get back on track and drove an almost flawless main to take the win putting him right back in the driver’s seat to race for the overall. In A3 David got out strong and just when it looked like he had control his speedo began to thermal due to a fan shorting. This allowed the 23 second lead to dwindle down from A1 winner Mitchel Gardiner of St. Louis charging hard while also battling with Chris Allison for 2nd place. Luckily for David his thermal shutoff only lasted for 5 seconds a couple of times before his car would move again. David strapped it up for the last 2 laps and again pulled away from Mitchel and Chris to take the win and National Championship.

Top 3 overall for E-Buggy:

1. David Joor – Losi 2.0E, AVID, Tekin, AKA
2. Mitchel Gardiner – AE
3. Nick Vanderpool – Xray E808, Tekin, AVID, AKA